Marriage Visa / VISA

Marriage / Fiance Visa: Getting Married in Germany

For those of you who have decided to get married in Germany, the first thing to know is that the process is long and depending on your personal situation, it can be very complex. Anne previously wrote a short post about getting married in Germany, but I would also like to share my experience with you in more detail.

I started the application process for my marriage visa at the end of January 2011 and I received the visa itself at the end of June 2011. During this time, I appeared at the German Embassy in Manila at least three times to submit documents and have the interview.

Since the process, duration, and requirements will be different on a case-to-case basis, let this post just serve as a guide. Do not expect that you will experience exactly the same thing.

MARRIAGE/FIANCE VISA: PROCESS & REQUIREMENTS

STEP 1: Prepare for submission of initial requirements (the documents that are readily available in the Philippines. Note that some documents will have to be processed by your future husband in Germany).

– 2 completed and signed Marriage Visa Application forms
– 4 biometric photos
– valid passport
– original birth certificate
– signed security questionnaire
– proof of basic knowledge of German (A1) IF YOU HAVE IT ALREADY
– original CENOMAR
– Affidavit of Parental Consent / Advise IF APPLICABLE (see my sample of Affidavit of Parental Advise here)
– copies of fiance’s Personalausweis / Reisepass
– visa fee: 60 EUR
– 2 photocopies each of orig documents


STEP 2: Book an appointment to submit the requirements using the embassy’s Online Booking System


STEP 3: Submit your documents to the German Embassy. The case officer will also explain the next steps about your visa application. He or she might also mention something about the Beitrittserklärung which is a document that the Standesamt in Germany will need to have in order to proceed with registering your intended marriage.

At this point, your fiance in Germany should also contact the Standesamt to check about the process and announce that the two of you would like to register your intended marriage.

Note: It is important that your fiance builds a good relationship with the case officer at the Standesamt at this early point because the two of them will be meeting several times during your visa application.


STEP 4: Your application is now in progress! In the background, the German Embassy is already communicating with the Standesamt in Germany.

After a few days, the Embassy will send you a notification via post if you need to submit anything else. Here is the notification that I received:

Additional Reqs Notification

As you can see, these documents from Germany are now being asked for, so it’s time for your future husband to do the legwork in Germany:

– Written confirmation of the German Standesamt at the application for marriage has been successful with intended date of marriage
– Confirmation from the Standesamt/Ausländerbehörde if checking of documents is needed (see Step 5)


STEP 5: Ask your future husband to contact the Standesamt so that they can confirm if checking of your documents is needed for the marriage visa. Here is the note that I received from the German Embassy with instructions about this matter:

Checking of Documents


STEP 6: The Standesamt in Germany will inform the German Embassy in the Philippines about whether or not the checking of documents is needed. This communication will be done internally, but your fiance might receive a copy of the email that they will send, which will be similar to this:

Checking of Documents 2


STEP 7: Technically, your husband cannot apply for marriage registration in Germany if you are not present. Therefore, you will need to sign a Beitrittserklärung IF you are not in Germany with him at the time that you are registering the marriage in the Standesamt. This document gives your fiance the right to register the marriage on behalf of the both of you.

In the message that the Standesamt sent the German Embassy, they have also requested that you sign the Beitrittserklärung (see the paragraph inside the green box below)

Beitrittserklaerung Notification

You will sign this document in the German Embassy, and they will be the ones to send it to the Standesamt.


STEP 8: The checking of your documents will normally take around 4-6 months, so this stage is going to be about waiting 😉


STEP 9: Once the checking of documents is completed successfully, the German Embassy will report back to the Standesamt that the process can continue.

Your fiance will be called back to the Standesamt so that a marriage date can be set and the Bescheinigung der Eheschliessung (certificate of registration of intended marriage, see image below) can be issued.

Bescheinigung der Eheschliessung SAMPLE


STEP 10: Ask your husband to send the Bescheinigung der Eheschliessung to you via courier, along with any other final requirements (for example, the Verpflichtungserklärung/Formal Obligation).


STEP 11: After you receive the final documents from your fiance, your checklist of additional requirements from Step 4 should now be complete.

Submit the final requirements to the German Embassy. If everything is in order, you will be asked to leave your passport so that they can do the final visa processing.

You are almost at the finish line! 🙂


STEP 12: A courier will deliver your passport to your specified address with the marriage visa sticker already attached.

Marriage Visa

Congratulations! You can now book your flight and get ready for your wedding in Germany! 😀

I hope this helps you in some small way…

Reena

225 thoughts on “Marriage / Fiance Visa: Getting Married in Germany

  1. Hi Reena,

    My boyfriend received a letter from Standesamt today asking us to submit additional docs. Well, it is in German so I can’t understand everything. I think they are asking for an affidavit saying that I am single but I am not sure. Can you help me please. Can I send you the photo? I also want to know if you sent these papers to them too. Thank you!

    • Hello Daryl,

      Yes, sure. I submitted a CENOMAR and Affidavit of Parental Advise since I was only 23 at the time of processing.

      • Hi,

        Is it possible for me to send you the paper? I just badly need some help in translating it. Please! 🙂

      • I’m so sorry. You may find this stupid but I can’t see your email address. Haha. I sent you a private message inF Facebook instead. 😉

  2. Hello,

    Can I ask if there is a printable file for Parent’s Consent because I’m still 23 yrs old.
    Thanks.

    • Hello, the Notary Public will usually have a template ready. I didn’t have to bring my own printed affidavit, sila na mismo yung gumawa and my dad just had to sign it.

      • Thanks. How much will I need to pay for it?

        Another question, what are the requirements needed to be authenticated by DFA and how many copies for each?

        Is it also necessary to get NBI?

        Thanks.

        • The price will vary. I suggest that you inquire at the specific Notary Public you plan to use. Mine cost around 600pesos, I think (but I’m not sure anymore).

  3. HI, Reena. It is such a helpful post. I just want to ask how long does it take from the time you submitted all the documents until receiving the visa (Between Step 11 and Step 12)?

      • Thank you, Reena, for the quick response. That’s comforting to know, most esp we’re in 2016 now, and hope it may get faster than that. hehe! Maybe we can meetup soon wherever in Germany.

  4. Hi Reena, my German boyfriend and I are planning to have a wedding both here in PH and in DE. We are now at a point of deciding if we get married in PH first and later apply for a Family Reunion visa, or apply for Fiance Visa now and get married in Germany after (we will have both weddings, anyway). Do you have an idea which is more advantageous in terms of ease of processing required visa and marriage documents?

  5. Hi!
    Is it possible for the german fiancee to get the things below para unang submission ko palang complete na?

    – Written confirmation of the German Standesamt at the application for marriage has been successful with intended date of marriage
    – Confirmation from the Standesamt/Ausländerbehörde if checking of documents is needed

    • Hello!

      Yung written confirmation about the successful application of marriage, definitely makukuha yan nung German fiancee from the Standesamt. Kailangan unahin niya yan para makuha mo na kaagad and present mo sa interview mo at the Embassy.

      Regarding the second requirement, if mabibigay na din ng Standesamt yung confirmation if your documents need to be checked kasabay nung written confirmation, then mabuti. Most likely, checking of documents will be needed naman talaga.
      Based on my experience, nauna yung interview ko sa Embassy tapos habang in process na yung application ko pa lang binigay ni Standesamt yung confirmation about checking of documents.

      • Thanks so much. Also for everyone out there, I wanna be helpful too. So I am sharing this. May mga nabasa akong blog na hinabol nalang nila yung A1 certificate nila, meron namang iba (mga nag apply 3 years ago), di na nirequire ng A1 certificate kasi may University degree sila. So I emailed the embassy last December. I am a Chemical Engineer and asked them if I can get exempted in submitting the A1 certificate. Eto ang reply ng embassy:

        “Kindly note the German Embassy that the German language exception based on the university degree is obsolete, hence it has also been removed from our website.
        That being said, you would still need to provide an A1 German language certificate.”

  6. Hallo!

    I’m a beginner about this matter. I have a fiance from Germany and he is planning to marry me in Germany. We never meet yet but he’s planning to come on June.

    Is Marriage visa and Fiance visa just the same?
    Is it possible if I don’t take Basic knowledge of German (A1) here in Philippines? because my fiance told me to do it in Germany.

    • Hallo! Yes, it’s just the same. Embassy uses the term marriage visa instead of fiance visa. And no, without A1 you can’t apply for the visa, it is one of the major requirements of the embassy. You can find the requirements at the embassy website.

  7. Hi po Merry Christmas.Yes same kami nga situation Ni CREATOPIC…d parin ako naka take nag A1 then my partner and I planning to apply for fiance visa this january 2017.so pano po yon?were planing to do it in Germany by the time Im laready there.

    • Happy New Year! Language certificate is one of the major requirements of the embassy. I don’t think your visa will be processed if it is lacking the certificate. YOu can take the exam only and not attend the formal classes, there are enough practice exams in the internet. It is also advisable to take a course in PH, because it will be a real shock for you once you step in Germany.

    • Hello. Happy New year! Ako hindi pa ko handa for A1 kung magtatake exam agad. For now, aral lang muna. Mag aapply na lang ako ng Visitor’s visa, pagbalik ko fiance visa na.

  8. I have been reading alot of articles and blogs for a couple of months na. I emailed the embassy asking if it is better to get married in PH first then apply for family reunion visa or apply for fiancee visa tapos get married there. Here is the response:

    “In case you see your future in Germany it might be better to get married in Germany in order to have all documents according to German standards.”

    I want a Philippine wedding ceremony, ang struggle ko lang is I am Catholic, and super dami ng requirements. My fiancee is Evangelical Lutheran Christian. To be honest I don’t have the time to go through all the extra requirements of the Catholic Church kaya I am opting for a Christian Wedding.

    Kaso here are my problems (hope anybody there can help).
    Ayoko pa kasi magresign sa trabaho ko sa Pinas hanggat di pako aalis. April 2018 pa namin plan to get married sa Pinas, so kailangan ko na magapply ng fiancee visa ng mga August 2017. Say 6 months approval, edi Feb 2018 maapprove. Ok lang ba na pumunta ako ng Germany ng Feb/March 2018 just for the civil wedding, tapos balik ako sa Pinas para makapag resign pako sa work and syempre maayos ung Philippine wedding ng April. Tapos after Philippine Wedding, dun lang ako lilipad finally sa Germany to settle down (Mga end May)?

    • Hello!

      I think it would depend on the length of your marriage visa’s validity (i.e., if it is still valid after your marriage or if it expires exactly on the date of your marriage), and if the visa is valid for multiple entry.

      In any case, I recommend first accomplishing these initial critical steps in Germany after your civil wedding, in order to be sure that you will not run into any problems when leaving and re-entering the country:

      1. Register yourself at the local government and applying for an Aufenthaltstitel (residence permit) that will serve as a replacement of your marriage visa. This will allow you to leave and re-enter Germany with no problems. While you are at the Ausländerbehörde (Alien’s Office), explain to the case officer your plan of returning to the Philippines for a few months. He or she might be able to give you advice.
      2. Register your marriage at the Philippine Embassy in Berlin. It’s best to accomplish this shortly after your wedding in order to minimize the required documents. If you fail to register within 1 year of being married, you will need to submit the Affidavit of Delayed Registration – 1 original and 3 photocopies. “An affidavit must be filed if marriage was not registered within one year from date of marriage; if filed by mail, the Affidavitmust be notarized by a German Notar and authenticated by the Landgericht.”, according to the Philippine Embassy in Berlin.
      3. Applying to be covered under your husband’s health insurance (don’t underestimate the importance of this!)

      Admittedly, medyo conservative yung perspective ko on this matter. However, I think it’s better to be safe than sorry, especially when the matter is concerned about your legal status in Germany 🙂

      • Hi Reena,

        Thank you so much for the quick reply. Actually after typing my comment kanina, di na din ako nakatiis and I emailed the embassy again (sana di sila sakin nakukulitan). I stated my situation and infairness nagreply within 30 minutes.

        Eto ang reply:

        “Thank you for your inquiry. Yes, if your visa gets approved, it is possible for you to go to Germany for the German wedding there and then go back to the Philippines. I may add that, once your residence title (Aufenthaltserlaubnis) is issued, you can stay outside of Germany for up to 6 months without the residence title losing its validity. For more information your fiancé should contact the responsible Aliens Authority in Germany.”

        So pareho kayo ng advice, which is great kasi yan na din ang gusto ko gawin. Look at my plan:

        Aug 2017 – start marriage visa application
        Feb/Mar 2018 – approved visa (hopefully)
        Mar 2018 – fly to germany for the german wedding then balik sa Pinas agad (mga 1 or 2 weeks)
        Apr 2018 – kasal sa pinas and magresign sa trabaho
        end of May 2018 – fly to Germany finally.

        Naisip ko, after ng civil wedding sa germany next day magaapply nako kaagad nung residence title (Aufenthaltserlaubnis). Pwede ba yun? Kaso ganu katagal ba bago yun naiissue? Kailangan ko bang mag antay pa ng additional 1 or 2 weeks or more??? Kasi nga babalik pa ko sa Pinas. Or pwede ipadala nalang yun? Or nakakakabit ba yun sa passport like a visa?

        • The Aufenthaltstitel is actually a plastic card with a chip, like a credit card. It’s only valid in combination with your passport (so you will always have to bring both whenever you travel). It took 6 weeks for me to receive mine.

          Good idea for you to apply for the Aufenthaltstitel on the day after your wedding. You will get a receipt, which I suggest you keep with you at all times so that in case you run into problems if you use your marriage visa to leave and re-enter Germany, you can show that your Aufenthaltstitel has already been paid for and is now currently in process.

          Lastly, there is something called a “Fiktionsbescheinigung” (temporary residence permit). It’s a piece of paper lang. When you apply for the Aufenthaltstitel, ask about whether you will need to get this or not, since you will be traveling back to the Philippines before the Aufenthaltstitel card is released.

  9. Hi maam rena ! Good day . Which one will go first ? CI or appointment ? My fiance send my documents in german embassy 3 weeks ago then after 2 weeks nag CI . I would like to ask which one will go first ? CI or appointment .

  10. Hi MS Anne. Its me again jel. Finally we got married (civil wedding) this last 3rd of janaur . And on Jan 23 i will get our marriage certificate s NSO. And now asking for help for the next step .. Hope u can guide and help me again
    Salamat

  11. Hi, I will soon receive an invitation letter from my boyfriend and apply for visitor’s visa to visit boyfriend and relatives (my aunt) in Germany. I found him in Social networking and I never met him in real but I have aunt living in Germany. She is married to a German and has a daughter. My aunt already contacted him. He’s going to visit me here in Philippines this coming June, also it’s the schedule of departure. So, I am not going alone.

    I have the reason of coming back that I will be taking Licensure Examination for Teachers this coming September 2017 exam. I do not know what’s on their mind if I tell this. Do I have to tell this? Is this right?

    I have photos of my aunt but I’m not with her. How about if only the photos of my aunt? Do I need her contact number? What kind of proof that I need to show?

    Can you please tell me what other proof do I need to show?

    • For proof of rootedness, telling them is not enough, you should have a document at hand (e.g.confirmed registration for LET, COE and LOA from employer or something similar)… For proof of relationship, a copy of chat or email may be asked from you aside from pictures.

        • Hi! In the Philippines, BPI offers travel insurance for Schengen state. There are also companies such as Blue Cross and Assist Card that offers such. The prices can be found on their website, just google their site.

          If the travel insurance will be purchased from Germany, it can be availed from ADAC or there are insurance companies that offers them too. I personally used Hanse Merkur for my mom’s travel insurance because it is the cheapest for 90-day-travel (I think it cost me less than €100), and can be conveniently applied online. Changing of dates of insurance validity was also easy with them. Just google the website of Hanse Merkur or ADAC for more information.

          • Hi! You don’t need to book a flight yet, you just need this itinerary, or for some they call it “dummy ticket” or in some travel agencies, they call it “certificate of booking”. It is not advisable to buy the ticket prior to visa interview, buy it only after you got your visa.

  12. Hallo

    My visa interview will be on March 01, 2017. I have certification for six months contract of work in our municipality which ended on September 2016, I also reported from October to December 2016. Now, I just got work as a Gov’t worker in the same place. I don’t think they will issue me a Certificate of employment or leave of absence because I am just starting. Do you have any idea what kind of proof to show? I’m confuse

    • Hi! It should not be a problem to ask for COE and LOA, tell them to include that it will be for visa purposes, hence, the compensation and benefits should also be included. Another way to prove that you will come back is if you have a business or any land title under your name.

  13. 2 completed and signed Marriage Visa Application forms
    – 4 biometric photos
    – valid passport
    – original birth certificate
    – signed security questionnaire

    Tanong po sana ako kung pati rin ba sa fiancé ko in Germany need rin mag’provide nito?
    Hoping for a reply
    Plan po nmin magpakasal this year
    God bless

      • Thank you

        Ask ko sana need po ba talaga mc ng parents if kukuha ng fiancé visa?
        may conflict po kc sa birth certificate ko nakalagay dun kasal cla pero ang totoo di talaga cla kasal..pa’help nman po kung ano maganda kung gawin

        Salamat

        • Usually, they ask for it kung late registered ang BC mo, or kung required ang background checking. Sadly walang way out kung hingiin eto ng Standesamt. Magagawa mo lang ay to go sa PSA (former NSO) and do necessary corrections.

  14. Hi I am a Ghanaian and my girlfriend is German we planing to get married.the biggest part is already done with the embassy and the stantdesamt has one week now geven a date of marry pls how long will that take

    • Hi! The processing varies from city to city and the completeness of your documents and its authenticity. In some cases, a background investigation must first be done, which may cost longer waiting time.

  15. Hi po im new here confused lang po ako legal capacity balak po nmn paksal sa de. Need some help to clarify This. Thanks a lot

    • Hi! Anong legal capacity, galing sa yo? In that case, it means the CENOMAR sa atin. For Fiance visa, just follow the requirements na makikita mo sa embassy website. However, minsan kasi pag kumukuha ng schedule ang partner sa DE, may mga documents na hinihingi ang Standesamt, so if your bf pumunta sa Standesamt to inquire, and maybe the legal capacity (or NSO CENOMAR) is one of the requirements from you.

      • Ano po na Ang step pag yung Papers sa standesamt na po. Ilang weeks po bago mabigay Ang written confirmation po? Binasa po nmin marrying a foreignee in Germany sa embassy ng Berlin Need po yung legal capacity ano na po anh mangyayari after that? Ilang weeks po sa hc at mgkaroon ng Visa. Thanks a lot po

      • Good day!! Ask ko po sna how Long tlga pag yung Papers sa abh or higher Court po? Almost 1 month na sa higher Court la pa rin balita. My nkaexperience po na dito?

        • I usually advice wait at least 3months unless may sinabi silang time frame. Kung sinabi nilang in 1 month may result na, then pwede na kayong magfollow up, if wala namang sinabi then wait lang muna. Ganyan talaga visa processing, it will test your patience.

  16. Hallo paano ba talaga mg start ng fiance visa for germany? andito ako sa turkey now but i have already A1 certificate dito akon nag skol at ngkuha ng certificate, and gusto ng bf ko mg proces kami ng fiance kong pwede ba dito sa istanbul or need ba na umuwi ako sa pinas. kong hindi pwede uuwi nalng ako sa june tapos mgprocess pero no idea talaga ako how to start. i need your guide.thanks

  17. Hello again,ng decide nalang kami sa pinas nalng kami mg process para i have time din spending my time sa family ko kasi its been 2 years away from them.,ask kong lang anong needed ng bf ko kong mgpa registered na cya doon sa Munchen ng marriage visa?thanks

  18. hi ask ko lang sana kung meron same case sa akin, i get pregnant the 2nd time i visited my bf in germany and because of this we need to change our plans, plan namin this coming november kami pakasal and kase my work pa ako d2 sa pinas kaso nabuntis ako so nag apply kami ng family reunion visa for unborn baby last march pero i had a miscarriage on the 1st week of april while waiting for our visa, dahil don nag email agad ung bf ko sa embassy and nag inform sa standesamt at ABH na di na namin ituloy ung FVR dahil wala na ang baby namin instead we will apply for MV and last May 24 meron na pumunta sa bahay namin for CI while nka maternity leave ako from work… ang tanong ko po gaano katagal makabalik ung papers ko sa standesamt ulit para sa 11/121? at kailangan ko po ba ulit mag pa appoinment sa embassy? for MV? kase i already had last March for FVR? sana po may makasagot at maka bigay nga idea sa akin, maraming salamat 😉

  19. hello po..guten tag..ask ko lng po kc ntapos ko ng yung second interview ko last july 24,taz prior on that my nkapagsabi skin na after ng second interview ko kukunin daw yung passport ko..pero sa case ko po pnaphotocopy lng po nla passport ko then binalik sa akin…anu pomg ibig sabihin non??salamat po sa help and reply..

    • Nothing, just wait for the call. Most probably need pa niöa ipadala sa DE ang documents mo at need nila copy ng passport mo. Chill ka lang muna. Ung kinukuha agad ang passport ay usually tourist/visit visa, for national visa binabalik talaga ang passport after interview.

      • ahh okay po salamat sa advice..worried lmg kc ako bka my problema sa interview or sa documents nmin..

Leave a Reply

