TRAVEL / Wanderlust Weekend

Favorite Places in Germany: The Baltic Sea (Ostsee)

Oftentimes, I am asked what fascinates me here in Germany, and I would always answer, the scenery. How green it is in summer, how colorful it is in autumn, how it turns black and white in winter and how life comes back in spring. I used to only see these things through books or films when I was a kid, seeing them is totally different. Then I would be asked if I do have any favorite place here in Germany. This question then turns out to be really difficult to answer, because every place I get to visit offers different things and more often than not, becomes a favorite place for me. So I would rather blog my different favorite places and include some website links or few personal photos (maybe one or two, I would leave the rest to you to visit and experience) to give you a glimpse of what these places offer. I would start with the Baltic sea.

From Wikipedia:

The Baltic Sea is located between the Scandinavian Peninsula, Finland, the Baltic countries, and in the South the North European Plain. Including the Gulf and Bay of Bothnia and the Gulf of Finland the sea stretches from 53°N to 66°N latitude and from 10°E to 30°E longitude. It drains by the Danish islands into the Kattegat by way of the straits of Øresund, the Great Belt and the Little Belt, which defines the Baltic Sea as one of the mediterranean seas of the Atlantic.

The Baltic Proper is bordered on its northern edge, at the latitude 60°N, by the Åland islands and the Gulf of Bothnia, on its northeastern edge by the Gulf of Finland, on its eastern edge by the Gulf of Riga, and in the West by the South-Swedish part of the Scandinavian Peninsula.

The Baltic Sea is connected by artificial waterways to the White Sea via the White Sea Canal and to the German Bight of the North Sea via the Kiel Canal.

The province of my husband lies along the coast of the Baltic sea and he brought me there recently to free my mind from stress of university life and to breathe some fresh air. Having lived for about half my life at Batangas, I have always been a sea-person, even if I don’t even know how to swim and worse, most of the time, seasick. I just love the sound of the waves and how liberating it is to look beyond the endless sea (okay, am starting to be poetic here, lol!). Anyway, I will share some scenic photos from the side of the island of Usedom. Despite the crazy April weather we had during that vacation, it still counts as my favorite place in Germany.

P1030675

Sea bridge at Zinnowitz

P1030665

seashells by the seashore of Damerow

P1030824

sea bridge at Ahlbeck (saw this twice at two old German films and I was so fascinated and I was overwhelmed when I finally get to walk its promenade personally)

P1030806

if you want, you can also take a cruise and visit other coasts of Germany and/ or other countries as far as Sweden, Finnland, or Norway

There are lots of hotels and apartments to rent along the coasts of Baltic sea. Last Easter, we spent a week at the island of Usedom, and hopefully in summer, we get to spend some time at the island of Rügen and visit the UNESCO World Heritage, the Jasmund National Park, famous for its chalk cliffs. What made me fall in love to that place is the food (fresh fish everywhere!), and most especially, the orderliness and cleanliness.

135447917432704040913

Leave a Reply

